Very merry meals on wheels

Cllr Maureen Attewell and thirteen fellow councillors* have joined together to donate £2050 from their Better Neighbourhood Grants to fund a selection of gifts which will be given to Meals on Wheels customers in the run up to Christmas and on Christmas Day itself. 

And the gifts don’t stop there as Meals on Wheels customers will also receive a gift containing a Christmas pudding, a box of sweets and a satsuma, courtesy of London Irish Rugby Club in Sunbury-on-Thames. 

Cllr Maureen Attewell, Cabinet Member for Community Wellbeing, said: “I am really pleased to have been able to arrange the purchase of these gifts, together with my fellow councillors, for our Meals on Wheels customers. It’s a small gesture but we hope it will make the residents smile and show that we are thinking of them at Christmas - particularly those without family or friends living nearby. I would also like to thank London Irish Rugby Club for their kind donations; they support us every year and it is very much appreciated.”   

Jackie Roy, Office Manager and Team PA at London Irish Rugby Club, said: “London Irish is delighted to support this wonderful initiative again this year and we hope Spelthorne’s Meals on Wheels clients enjoy their Christmas gifts. We would also like to take the opportunity to wish everyone in Spelthorne a very happy Christmas and wonderful New Year. 

For more information on the Meals on Wheels service call Spelthorne Council on 01784 444265. 

*Better Neighbourhood Grants were received from the following councillors:- 


Better Neighbourhood   Grant Donation

Cllr   Maureen Attewell            £200

Cllr   Colin Barnard                   £50

Cllr   Richard Barratt              £100

Cllr   John Boughtflower         £100

Cllr   Sabine Capes                £600

Cllr   Rose Chandler              £200

Cllr   Tim Evans                     £100

Cllr   Mark Francis                   £50

Cllr   Nick Gething                 £100

Cllr   Vivienne Leighton            £50

Cllr   Sinead Mooney              £100

Cllr   Jean Pinkerton               £100

Cllr   Joanne Sexton               £250

Cllr   Robin Sider                      £50

To read the source article click here